IDOR 2013

The Trophies

Eric Seal Memorial Trophy  
The Rutherford Appleton Trophy The City of Plymouth Trophy
The Amaranthe Salver CSORC Shield
The Elite Cup The Silver Jubilee Trophy
Class A Shield and Cariad Cup Round The Island Trophy
CSSA Charity Cup

Results 2012

Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4
Race 5 Race 6 Race 7 Race 8

Results Summary
Rutherford Appleton Trophy City of Plymouth Trophy  
Amaranthe Salver CSORC Shield  
Elite Cup Silver Jubilee Trophy
Class A Shield and Cariad Cup Round the Island Trophy

The Interdepartmental Offshore Regatta 20th - 24th May 2013

The Inter-Departmental Offshore Regatta is held every year between boats and crews representing Civil Service departments, agencies and other bodies. There are also entries from Civil Service sailing and recreation clubs. For 2013 there will be 20 boats available from Fairview Sailing.

The IDOR has been held every year since the late 1960’s, starting as a race to Cherbourg in members' own boats. Over the years it has evolved into a mixture of inshore and offshore races held over five days, mainly in the Solent but including a race round the Isle of Wight, in a chartered matched fleet.

Who can enter?

Entry is open to Civil Service and affiliated departments, and in recent years this has been extended to include CSSA clubs, such as Fishers Green, Littleton and CSORC.

Where is it held?

This year the regatta is again hosted by the Island Sailing Club, Cowes, but for a change we will be chartering boats from Fairview Sailing at Port Hamble.

Tides for Portsmouth May 2013

Day Time (BST) Height Time (BST) Height
Mon 20th 07:41 3.9 13:21 1.7
Tues 21st 08:38 4.0 14:16 1.4
Wed 22nd 09:31 4.2 15:06 1.2
Thurs 23rd 10:21 4.4 15:54 1.0
Fri 24th 11:08 4.6 16:42 4.8

Useful downloads

Entry List

Class A

Met Office Matt Adams
Diamond Light Nick Rees
SOCA Alan Becket
UKBA Gary Bowers
HMRC Suzanne Gillespie
HSE Meyrick Hadfield
HMG Communications Centre Chris Otley
DSTL Simon Zavad
HSE Meyrick Hadfield
UKHO Bob Higgs
MOD Simon Owens

Class B

DSTL Stuart Kirkham
DWP/HASSRA Trudy Netherwood
CSORC Nick Bowles
Fishers Green SC Andrew Moss
HSE Taren Hewitt
SOCA Paul Free
Littleton SC Jo Lloyd
5 Kingdoms SC Martin Hugo

2013 Programme

Click here to download the Notice of Race 2013


15:00 Arrive at Port Hamble for a briefing at Banana Wharf.
17:00 A Fairview representative will conduct a handover with the skipper, including a safety briefing and inventory check.

Location of Port Hamble here.


Morning: practice. 

14:30 There will be a short (c. 3 hours) offshore passage race starting off the Hamble and finishing at Cowes. This will count towards the offshore trophies, but will only count single points (rather than double).

20:00 Skippers' and Navigators' Brief at ISC.


08:00 Offshore Race, possibly round the IOW, depending on weather.


08:00 Offshore Race, possibly to Christchurch Bay, followed by a short inshore race.


10:00 Three inshore races with a committee boat start.
19:00 Prizegiving and dinner at the Royal Corinthian Y C.


10:00 Passage race back to the Hamble.

Pairs Competition for the Class A Shield and Cariad Cup

Awarded to the team with the lowest combined points in racing up to Thursday evening. Offshore races count as two place points – no discards.

For those new to the regatta, the pairs competition is a way to encourage the exchange of knowledge and ideas as well as to encourage social mixing between crews, and of course to add another element to the competitive side of the regatta. We suggest you take some time out during the week to invite your buddy boat round for a drink.

1. Matt Adams (Met Office) + Stuart Kirkham (DSTL)

2. Robert Rushton (Diamond Light) + GCHQ no 1 boat

3. Alan Becket (SOCA) + GCHQ no 2 boat

4. Neil Wood (DWP/HASSRA) + GCHQ no 3 boat

5. Garry Bowers (UKBA) + Chris Otley (HMG Communications Centre)

6. Phillip Brearey (Fishers Green) + Suzanne Gillespie (HMRC)

7. Simon Zavad (DSTL) + Taren Hewitt (HSE)

8. Meyrick Hadfield (HSE) + Jo Lloyd (Littleton)

9. Trudy Netherwood (DWP/HASSRA) + Simon Owens (MOD)

10. Paul Free (SOCA) + Bob Higgs (UKHO)

11. Nick Bowles (CSORC) + Martin Hugo (5 Kingdoms)